Somme

I have not been blogging for a while, meanly because I have been extremely busy working on my new photography piece that is intended for exhibiting in May. Recently I have become interested in capturing the landscapes of countries impacted by war. Inspired by artists such as Simon Norfolk and Sophie Ristelhueber, I wanted to create my own subjective perspective of the land in the aftermath of war, no matter how long ago the war finished I believe there is still something left behind. I have spent the last year visiting various areas of France, searching for areas that have a special glimpse of the past. A recent trip to the Somme area of France taught me a lot about the tragic history of the Great War – World War 1.

Battle field green

Leave a Reply

